Sex is holy

On Monday I talked about the fact that sex matters. As a high desire wife, you may not need any reminding or convincing of this. Often though, I can forget that sex is holy. And oh, aren’t there days I wished I lived a holier life! 🙂

But it’s important to remember. No, not just important. It’s vital. Sex isn’t just an accident. It was created by God to reflect who He is, to bind a man and wife together, and (most importantly) to glorify Him. Sex is, in the most practical sense, the one physical act that He created to reflect the covenant of marriage. This is why remaining pure until your marriage bed is so important, and why premarital and adulterous sex can be so devastating (but redeemable!). Because sex matters, and sex is holy.

As I type out this post, early in the morning, I am reminded to pray. Woe to us who don’t think that the Enemy of our souls isn’t delighted by our lack of sex. I once heard it said that before marriage Satan will do all in his power to get a couple to have sex, and after marriage he does all in his power to get them to stop! We are at war, my dear sisters.

Ephesians 6:12 reminds us, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.”
The Message Bible states it this way: “And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.”

Sex is holy. Satan hates anything holy. He hates anything that glorifies God. So he dilutes it (makes us think it isn’t important when it is), or he abuses it (uses it as a weapon against us), or he magnifies it (gives it an improper place in our hearts and lives) or just plain lies about it (hello, Hollywood?). I have seen the church be a tool in his diluting message. I have seen people be a tool in his abusing message. I have seen the sin in my own heart magnify it until I can see nothing else. And Hollywood? Good grief but they are a pack of liars, aren’t they?

When we have sex, we are shouting to the world that our reflection of Christ & His Bride is strong and healthy.  Dear friends & strong women of God – we are at war. This is for keeps. Our marriage beds are a battle ground. Not where we fight our husbands, but where we join them to fight the good fight. Don’t grow weary  in well-doing, dear friends. PRAY. Pray over your marriage bed. Pray over your husband. Pray over his sex drive. Don’t be led down the path of complaining and mourning the lack you may see without spending time fighting the good fight on your knees.

I am praying for you today. I am praying that you will have the ability to really see how holy your marriage is.  I am praying for divine strength to wage warfare. Not with your husband, but with the real enemy.  Will you pray for me too? I need the scales torn from my eyes as much as anyone. Pray for me that I would continue to stand…and having done all to stand, that I would stand still. (Ephesians 6:13)

Annabel

You know that masturbation post I promised? It’s coming very soon. But I really felt like I needed to cover the basics of what I think about sex before I could approach that heavy-laden topic.

3 thoughts on “Sex is holy

Comments are closed.