Godly seduction

Ladies, today I want to talk about the art of Godly seduction. As I sit here and write, it is a gorgeous fall day. You know, the kind that seems to yell at you to abandon everything that needs doing and just come outside?
Fall is such a wonderful example of what Godly seduction in marriage can look like. There is no one here telling me I should go outside. It isn’t on my to-do list. But everything is just so beautiful that I just can’t help but open the doors and revel in it.

As women, and especially high drive women, we can often forget that it is our joy and honor to seduce our husbands. Or perhaps, we forget that seduction is like a a fall day – completely enticing. The challenge comes, too, in the fact that media has told us what seduction looks like, right? It looks like negligie – black lace and high heels. But I would like to encourage you to think of Godly seduction like an autumn day. Everything in the environment drawing you in. As a high drive wife I can often try to invite my husband to make love with me the way that I have seen on television. And it can be so narrow – focusing merely on visual stimulus. But what if I created a seduction that looked like nature?

What if I cleaned my house, and made sure that it smelled nice when my husband got home? What if I greeted him with a warm hug and a kind word of thanks for how hard he works? What if I made sure our bed was as comfortable as possible, and that our bedroom was reserved for our marriage – not TV or work? What if I asked God to help the parts of me that are petty, selfish and rude?  
The thing about a fall day is that it is just so impossible to resist. The temperature is perfect. The colors are beautiful. It speaks of a Creator that loves me.

Godly seduction is the whole picture. It isn’t just our bodies, but our hearts. It isn’t just the clothes we put on (or take off), but the grace and kindness with which we clothe ourselves. Several of my readers recently commented on how God changed their perspectives and helped them to become soft, amenable wives. Women of peace and joy…and that it radically changed their marriage beds. What a testimony to truth! If you are constantly nagging, mothering, pestering and disrespecting your husband then you might want to take a closer look at yourself. Or perhaps it’s nothing that apparant. Maybe you mope. Or get silent when he tries to lead the family. Whatever it is, ask God to reveal it to you and to change your heart.

One last note – knowing your husband is so crucial here. What blesses him? Is it a clean house? A warm meal? A kiss when he gets home? Is it asking about his day or staying silent so he can process? Is it having on a clean outfit, or maybe a little makeup? Is it a sweet smile and a cheerful heart? All of these things are part of Godly seduction. And, of course, don’t forget to look nice when going to bed. But I am talking to high drive women here – you probably have a closet full of lingerie that you would love to put to use! But it might be time to throw out your old images of sexual allure and ask our Father to reveal to you ways you might be turning your husband off outside the bedroom.

So next time you experience a beautiful fall day, remember that creation is painting an amazing picture of Godly secduction for you – and then go, and do likewise.

What about you? What areas of your heart need God’s touch? What ministers to your husband?

Praying for you today, wonderful friends. Praying life into your hearts and minds. Praying wholeness into your heart and marriage. Pray for me today too. Pray that I would not just be a hearer of the Word, but a doer…I need strength to walk out my own heart’s journey.

themrs

7 thoughts on “Godly seduction

  1. I really love this post! It’s so true. So often I think I forget to mirror the biblical angle on this and just take the physical angle. I love how you encourage us to marry the 2, just as should be natural to us when we are living to bless our husbands! 🙂

  2. This is a wonderful post – I am going to print it out and keep it! For the past 2 years I have been trying to make changes in the bedroom, but keeping the way I acted outside of the bedroom the same. It has only been since I have begun to work on everything else that I have seen some real change in the marriage bed too.

  3. I enjoyed this post, it is so true that how we treat our hubbys are of extreme importance in how we are treated back!! God has thankfully taught me this lesson although I can promise there is no perfection of it in this house. I do tend of forget that it can feel more stressful in the house if it isn’t cleaned up and my hubby can feel more stressed out if I talk to him like he does everything wrong. Thank you so much for the reminder on how to seduce in a godly way, I needed that today. 😀

  4. What a life changing advice, a bless The Lord for you. May He continue using you…..it is life changer for me. Thanks

Comments are closed.